Announcing the 2014 Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award Nominees

Recognizing dedication and leadership in the field of oncology nursing in Canada

By: Denise Bryant-Lukosius | September 08, 2014 | Blog











Award recognizes dedication and leadership in field of oncology nursing in Canada

Vancouver - (September 3, 2014) — The Board of Directors of the Canadian Association of Nurses in Oncology (CANO/ACIO) is pleased to announce the nominees for the third annual Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award. 

Nominations were submitted by healthcare professionals, cancer patients, survivors and members of the community-at-large. Fourteen nominations in total were received.

The Boehringer Ingelheim Oncology Nurse of the Year Award recognizes the unique contributions of an oncology nurse who consistently demonstrates the highest level of nursing excellence and leadership. 

The criteria for the 2014 award place a special emphasis on this year’s theme of “Patient Engagement.” Nominees will be evaluated on their exemplary service in oncology nursing excellence, oncology leadership and advocacy. 

“Oncology nurses are redefining the way decision-making is being shared through the patient journey,” says Richard Mole, President & CEO of Boehringer Ingelheim (Canada) Ltd. “We commend all the nominees for their inspired contributions to this fast-changing field and here at Boehringer Ingelheim we are proud to be recognizing their tremendous efforts for a third year.”

Award nominees will be assessed by a panel of Canadian oncology nursing professionals, and the recipient will be awarded $5,000 towards further education and professional development.

“This award highlights the work all oncology nurses do in caring for Canadians with cancer every day,” says Barbara Fitzgerald, President of the Board of CANO/ACIO. “We are proud of our nurses’ vital role in today’s health care system.”

The 2014 Nurse of the Year Award Nominees (in alphabetical order):

  • Denise Bryant-Lukosius, Hamilton ON
  • Nanette Cox Kennett, Edmonton AB
  • Harold Dunn, Lourdes-de-Blanc-Sablon QC
  • Janet Giroux, Kingston ON
  • Philiz Goh, Toronto ON
  • Irène Leboeuf, Montreal QC
  • Donalda MacDonald, Toronto ON
  • Karey McCann, Edmonton AB
  • Tracey Moffatt, Toronto ON
  • Tammie Murray, London ON
  • Heidi Thomas, Hamilton ON
  • Marie-France Vachon, Montreal QC
  • Donna Van Allen, Millbank ON
  • Jennifer Wiernikowski, Hamilton ON

CANO/ACIO will present a webcast of the 2014 award ceremony on October 28th at 9:30 a.m. EDT / 6:30 a.m. PDT. This live event will be held at the Hilton Québec, as part of the association’s 2014 national conference.   

All members of the public are invited to view the ceremony webcast by visiting on that date.